Our Services

Our various workshops contribute to citizens’ cultural awakening across the Island of Montreal. We work within three major pillars of society: schools, the wider community, and events and festivals. Our inter-cultural mediation can, however, occur wherever clients wish to take part in an artistic, educational, and unique cultural experience. Workshops are adapted to the age of the participants which allows everyone to participate and enrich their cultural knowledge. Additionally, we travel to our clients and provide any and all materials required to run the workshop. All you have to bring is open-mindedness and a smile!

Classe - "Je suis Montréal", Class - "I am Montreal"

Schools

Faire une poupée en feuilles de maïs, Make a corn husk doll

Community

Dia de muertos NDG - Sculpture

Events and Festivals

Our Workshops

The goals of our workshops are to encourage participants to:

  • develop their skills and cultural awareness;

  • enrich their knowledge of the oral cultures and substance of the many cultural groups that make up Montreal;

  • participate in cultural exchanges in order to move towards more harmonious living;

  • participate in a dialogue promoting cultural unity and favouring the integration of new arrivals into Montreal’s society;

  • learn tools to combat prejudice, discrimination, and xenophobia.

 

Below is a non-exhaustive list of the workshops we offer.

1. Open-mindedness

The Immigration Codex

The Boturini Codex, also called the "Strip of the Pilgrimage", uses drawings to tell the story of the immigration of the Aztec people. In this workshop, each participant is pushed to reflect on their own history and draw it - emphasizing the values it brings to Quebec's society. At the end of the workshop, all the contributions are brought together to form the Quebec Codex!

2. Cooperation

Tau: The Sun God

The Wixárika people from Mexico have a rich culture of stories and legends, and are very protective of their territory. The story of Tau, the Sun God, describes the birth of the Sun, but also the cooperation of the animals. Participants will hear the story of Tau and discuss their impressions of it. They will do this while creating their own Ojo de Dios (Eyes of God) - an artistic piece made of wool, unique to the Wixárika people.

3. A Culture of Peace (in collaboration with the Mohawk Traditional Council)

The Great Peace of Montreal

The Great Peace of Montreal is a document signed in 1701 by 39 First Nations of North America and the new arrivals from France. The document describes their desire to live in harmony. This workshop consists of the making of wampums (bead belts) which will be exchanged by the participants, in the same way that those who signed the treaty did.

4. Collaboration

The World of Corn

According to the Chontal people, an ant helped humans find corn so that they would no longer be hungry. Corn is extremely important in the Americas as it has been the basis of the diet of its inhabitants for over 10’000 years. Corn leaves are used to make tamales and to build objects such as dolls, flowers, or fruit. During this workshop, we will present the different types of corn and use the leaves to make dolls!

 

5. Perseverance

Sawdust Carpets with Coloured Wood

This activity involves using coloured sawdust and cardboard stencils of geometric shapes to create a coloured carpet. This type of decoration was very popular in ancient Mexican and Central American cultures. For over 500 years, the inhabitants of small villages decorated their roads with sawdust during festivals in honour of their saints and protectors.

6. Expressing Needs

The Jewish Calendar

The culture of the Jewish people is a testament to their wisdom. One of their most notable contributions being their use of the moon to measure time. What, however, earned us the moon - an immense privilege from God. Through this activity, children will discover a Jewish legend and will create paper mosaics of the sun and moon based on an artistic tradition which will be presented during the workshop.

7. Sharing

African Masks

This workshop aims to help children discover the traditions and rich oral tradition of the Yoruba and Hausa peoples, currently established in Cameroon. Throughout this artistic workshop, each participant will be tasked with making a miniature mask out of cardboard inspired by the colours and shapes that African people used to represent various forces of nature.

 

8. Freedom

Mexican Fantasy Animals

Alebrijes are fantasy sculptures found in popular Mexican art. Pulled straight from a dream, they take form based on the artist’s creativity and personality. Thus, we invite every participant to discover their alebrije!

 

9. Respecting Beliefs

The Day of the Dead

The most popular celebration in Mexico is the Day of the Dead. It is based on the idea that those who have left the world of the living come back to visit once a year. In the spirit of the tradition, participants will build a model of an altar to the dead, including a small clay skeleton. Let’s celebrate the dead!

 

10. Justice

Witzilopoxtli

Those who hear the story of Witzilpoxtli, the Aztec god of free will, are imbued with an understanding of the importance of harmonious living, and respecting rules, rights and freedoms. Participants will be told the story and share their impressions. Once that is done, they will be asked to make masks, panaches and other objects out of cardboard inspired by the Aztec gods.

 

11. The Knowledge of Others

The Cycles of Life

Indigenous peoples have always used medicine wheels to understand the cycles of nature and human development. In this workshop, the participants will be exposed to the wisdom of Indigenous peoples and the, still relevant, lessons they taught for tens of thousands of years. At the end of the activity participants will be tasked with making a dreamcatcher.

12. Identity Building

“I am Montreal”

In order to share the cultural richness of Montreal, participants are invited to reflect on what this city means to them. They are then asked to paint the buildings, animals, and/or objects that evoke their view of what Montreal means using stencils. At the end of the activity, all of the contributions are brought together to create a collection wherein Montreal's uniqueness is showcased.

 

13. Knowing Yourself

Piñatas

The piñata came to be during “Las Posadas” celebrations in Mexico. Participants are invited to create their own piñatas and then destroy them as they represent the bad behaviours we hope to rid ourselves of. Our efforts to better ourselves are rewarded with candy!

For more information, contact us!

To book a workshop, please contact Pilar Hernandez via info@paalmtl.org or by telephone at 514 657-3340!

Nouveautés / News

info@paalmtl.org

514 657-3340

514 402-7135

Nos services

          Nos programmes d'ateliers divers contribuent à l'éveil culturel des individus à travers l’île de Montréal. Nous oeuvrons au sein de trois piliers de la société, soit le milieu scolaire, le volet communautaire et les événements et festivités. Toutefois, nos programmes de médiation inter-culturelle peuvent être effectués dans n’importe quel milieu où les participants désirent prendre part à une expérience artistique et éducative en matière de culture. Nous adaptons les ateliers à l’âge des participants, ce qui permet à tous d’y participer et d’en tirer parti en enrichissant leurs connaissances culturelles. De plus, nous nous déplaçons chez nos clients et fournissons tous les matériaux nécessaires aux activités. Votre apport indispensable à l’atelier est votre bonne humeur et votre ouverture d’esprit!

Classe - "Je suis Montréal", Class - "I am Montreal"

Milieu scolaire

Faire une poupée en feuilles de maïs, Make a corn husk doll

Milieu communautaire

Dia de muertos NDG - Sculpture

Événements et festivités

Nos ateliers

Les objectifs de nos ateliers sont d’amener l’individu à :

  • Développer ses compétences et son intelligence culturelles;

  • Enrichir ses connaissances quant aux cultures orale et matérielle des divers peuples qui caractérisent Montréal.

  • Participer au partage des cultures pour mieux-vivre ensemble.

  • Collaborer à un dialogue pour faciliter le rapprochement culturel et favoriser l'intégration des nouveaux arrivants dans la société montréalaise.

  • Se doter d’outils pour lutter contre les préjugés, la discrimination et la xénophobie.

 

Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste non-exhaustive des ateliers que nous offrons.

1. L’ouverture sur le monde.

Le codex de l’immigration

Le codex Boturini, également appelé Bande de la Pérégrination, raconte à l'aide de dessins l’histoire de l’immigration du peuple aztèque. Dans cet atelier, chaque participant est amené à réfléchir à sa propre histoire et à la dessiner, en identifiant les valeurs qu’il apporte à la société québécoise. À la fin de l’exercice, toutes les contributions artistiques et historiques sont réunies pour former le codex du Québec!
 

2. La coopération.

Tau le père Soleil

Le peuple wixárika vivant au Mexique est riche en histoires et légendes, et garde sa terre précieusement. Le conte de Tau le père soleil raconte la naissance du soleil, mais aussi le travail de coopération accompli par les animaux. Les participants écouteront le conte de Tau et partageront leurs impressions sur l’histoire, tout en créant leur propre Ojo de Dios (Yeux de Dieu), une pièce d’artisanat en laine, propre au peuple wixárika.
 

3. La culture de la paix.

La Grande Paix de Montréal

La Grande Paix de Montréal est un document signé en 1701 par 39 peuples autochtones et par les nouveaux arrivants français, témoignant de leur entente de vivre en harmonie. Cet atelier propose la création de wampums (ceintures perlées) que s’échangeront les participants, en guise de traité de paix moderne.

4. L’entraide.

Le monde du maïs

Selon le peuple chontal, une fourmi aurait aidé l’homme à trouver du maïs afin que celui-ci n’ait plus faim. Le maïs est très important en Amérique, puisqu’il constitue la base de l’alimentation de ses habitants, et ce depuis 10,000 ans. On utilise des feuilles de maïs pour faire des tamales et pour fabriquer des objets tels que des poupées, des fleurs ou des fruits.  Au cours de l'atelier, nous présenterons les différents types de maïs et en utiliserons justement les feuilles pour créer de petites poupées!

 

5. La persévérance.

Tapis de sciure de bois coloré

Cette activité implique d’utiliser de la sciure de bois colorée et des pochoirs en carton avec des motifs géométriques pour créer un tapis coloré au sol. Ce type d’installation est très populaire auprès des cultures ancestrales au Mexique et en Amérique Centrale. Depuis plus de 500 ans, les habitants des petites villes décorent les rues de leur village avec cette sciure de bois en l‘honneur de leurs saints et protecteurs, à l’occasion de fêtes traditionnelles.

 

6. L'expression de ses besoins.

Le calendrier juif

La culture du peuple juif témoigne de son immense sagesse. On en retient notamment la façon de mesurer le temps en fonction de la lune. Mais qu’est-ce qui a valu à la lune un tel privilège accordé par Dieu? Avec cette activité, les enfants découvriront une légende juive et feront une mosaïque du soleil ou de la lune en papier selon les traditions artistiques enseignées.

7. Le partage.

Masques africains

L’activité a pour but de faire découvrir aux enfants les traditions et la richesse orale des peuples Yoruba et Hausa, aujourd’hui établis au Cameroun. Au cours de cet atelier artistique, chaque participant élaborera un masque miniature en carton, inspiré des couleurs et formes avec lesquelles ces peuples représentent diverses forces de la nature.

 

8. La liberté.

Animaux fantastiques mexicains

Les alebrijes sont des sculptures fantastiques relevant de l’art mexicain populaire. Sortis tout droit d’un rêve, ils prennent forme selon la créativité et la personnalité de leur auteur. On invite ainsi chaque participant à découvrir son propre alebrije !

 

9. Le respect de ses convictions.

Le jour des morts

La fête la plus populaire du Mexique est le Jour des Morts. Cette célébration suggère que ceux qui ont quitté le monde viennent nous rendre visite. Dans l’esprit de la tradition, les participants de l’atelier fabriqueront la maquette d’un autel des morts, comprenant un petit squelette en argile. À nous de fêter la mort !

 

10. La justice.

Witzilopoxtli

L’histoire de Witzilopoxtli, le dieu aztèque de la volonté, fait comprendre l’importance du vivre-ensemble et du respect des règles, droits et libertés. Les enfants écouteront cette histoire et en partageront leurs impressions. Ils se mettront ensuite à l’œuvre pour fabriquer des masques, panaches et autres éléments en carton inspirés des dieux aztèques.

 

11. La connaissance des autres.

Les cycles de la vie

Les peuples autochtones d’Amérique ont toujours utilisé la roue de la médecine pour comprendre les cycles de la nature ainsi que le développement de l’être humain. Dans cet atelier, les participants découvre la sagesse des autochtones, porteuse de leçons toujours pertinentes aujourd’hui.  À la fin de l’activité, les participants seront amenés à réaliser un capteur de rêves.

12. La construction de l’identité

«Je suis Montréal»

Afin de partager la richesse culturelle de la ville de Montréal, nous invitons les participants à penser à ce que Montréal représente pour eux et à peindre, en utilisant des pochoirs, les bâtiments, les animaux et les objets qui évoquent toutes les particularités de cette ville. À la fin de l’exercice, toutes les contributions artistiques sont réunies afin de produire une création collective où l’originalité de Montréal est mise de l’avant.

 

13. La connaissance de soi

Piñatas

La piñata a vu le jour lors de fêtes mexicaines connues sous le nom de «Las Posadas». Les participants sont invités à confectionner une piñata pour ensuite la fracasser puisqu’elle représente les mauvais comportements dont nous devons nous débarrasser. Nos efforts pour privilégier une bonne conduite sont récompensés par des bonbons.

Pour plus d'information, n'hésitez pas à communiquer directement avec nous:

Pour réserver un atelier, veuillez communiquer avec Pilar Hernandez via info@paalmtl.org ou par téléphone au 514 657-3340 

Nouveautés / News

info@paalmtl.org

514 657-3340

514 402-7135

© 2015 Rafael Benitez. All rights reserved