The Kanienkehaka Teachings - To Better Understand Ourselves

Most of Quebec’s inhabitants are scarcely familiar with indigenous culture and history. Furthermore, many have not developed the intercultural competencies necessary to live in an intercultural society such as ours.

 

The “Kanienkehaka Teaching - To Better Understand Ourselves” project will be under development from April 2019 to March 2020. The program will be a non-formal educational experience (outside of regular school hours) that can be taught through local organizations across Montreal and Quebec. This project is being developed and will be animated in partnership with the "Conseil Traditionnel Mohawk".

The program is made up of a series of workshops focusing on the Kanienkehaka culture. In discovering the significance of the many traditions that will be presented, participants will be provided the opportunity to reduce the “cultural distance” between themselves and the Indigenous peoples of this land. On top of that, the workshops help to develop analytical and critical thinking - essential skills for open communication in a respectful and tolerant atmosphere.

Nouveautés / News

info@paalmtl.org

514 657-3340

514 402-7135

Les enseignements Kanienkehaka
pour mieux nous comprehendre

La plupart des habitants du Québec et du Canada ne connaissent pas les cultures autochtones et leur histoire; de même, beaucoup n’ont pas assez développé les compétences interculturelles nécessaires dans une société pluriethnique comme la nôtre.

 

Le projet Les enseignements Kanienkehaka pour mieux nous comprendre se développera d’avril  2019  à mars  2020. Il vise à créer un programme d’éducation non-formelle (en dehors des heures d’école) qui peut être enseigné dans les organismes communautaires de Montréal et du Québec. Le Conseil Traditionnel Mohawk est notre partenaire dans le développement du contenu des activités et éventuellement dans l’animation des ateliers.

Le programme est composé d’une série d’ateliers portant sur la culture Kanienkehaka (Mohawk). Découvrir la signification des traditions d’un des peuples autochtones réduira la distance culturelle des participants et favorisera le processus de réconciliation. Entre autres, il s’agira ici de valoriser l’analyse et la pensée critique, outils essentiels pour bien communiquer dans un climat de respect et de tolérance.

Nouveautés / News

info@paalmtl.org

514 657-3340

514 402-7135