Les autels de Dia de muertos NDG 2019

The essence of Día de Muertos is hardly limited to Mexican culture. It has always been a blend of different cultures like the Zapotec, Aztec, and Tarascan indigenous traditions with the Hispanic religious festivities. Today it is no different, Día de Muertos is an ever-evolving tradition that welcomes new interpretations.


In this edition of Día de Muertos NDG the altars reflect this rich diversity. While some altars in this exhibition showcase the intimate and personal characteristics of the domestic traditional altars, others offer us interpretations that maximize their potential to tell stories.


As some creators show, the altar can be used as a means to re-signify traditional symbols and to place them in a different context. Others prove that altars have the potential to be a space for political activism, as they help us establish connections between the past and the present, they function as artifacts for our collective memory.

Maria Castaneda, curator

ALTAR DEDICATED TO THE VICTIMS OF FEMICIDE

Karla Trejo and Mayela Sandoval

We dedicate this offering to the women and girls who are victims of femicide.

Femicide is a hate crime based on gender. This means that women are murdered for the sole reason of being women alone. The majority of femicides are perpetrated by men.

Mexico is the country with the highest rate of femicides on the continent with 3,357 femicides in 2018, 9 women murdered per day, compared to 1 woman murdered every 48 hours in Canada. Although the gap is huge, in both countries there is a disproportionate number of indigenous women who have been victims of gender violence, as the justice system has marginalized these groups. In Mexico 95% of feminicides go unpunished, which reflects the systemic discrimination and gender violence entrenched in society.

Beyond these figures, we seek to show our solidarity with the fight against this injustice. The dehumanization of femicide victims prevails in society, and we wish to put an end to this. That is why we want to name and put a face on those women who were murdered without consequences. They had a life, a family, dreams, ambitions, and NONE of these women deserved to die.

#NiUnaMenos #PasUneFemmedeMoins

 

Altar by Vanesa Arcega

Objects with symbolic power compose the traditional altar. While cempasuchil (marigolds) flowers and candles mark the path for the souls and to purify their journey, other types of figures like calaveras (skulls) remind us of the closeness of life and death. Ultimately, the holiday is about joy. For this reason, it is important to “spoil” the departed with the things that they used to enjoy in life.

 

In this altar the hobbies of those who are no longer with us are celebrated, like coin collecting and painting. This is also an act of care. Their favourite drinks and food offer nourishment and welcomes them into our homes.

 

This altar celebrates the memory of Eduardo de Arcega and Eva.

NA’ MINERVA

Yaen Tijerina, visual artist

 

This altar honours my grandmother Minerva as it is a celebration of the memory of our ancestors; it is a device to remember them and teach my daughter what I’ve learned about her Abuela Grande. Within the Zapotec tradition, receiving the loved ones that return every November is a great event: from going to the cemetery days before to clean the graves to the elaboration of a great offering at home to receive them. It is a great party and a feast. For my grandmother, it was very important to set up her altar in memory of her great grandmother, her in-laws, and her close family, and it is precisely through these rituals that I can bond to her.

 

Given that the great Xahuela passed away this year, nostalgia led me to participate in the Dia de Muertos festivities in this far away land. The objects in the offering represent what I remember most about my grandma, like her simplicity, frankness, and the gallantry of her Istmeña woman soul. Other elements are traditional to the altars from the region of the Istmo in Oaxaca, like the vertical shape, plantain leaves, and the festive xicalpestle. The altar is mobile, portable, and symbolic in its simplicity (fabricated with cardboard in its majority). The beings that are part of my memory tree– with or without photograph but present in the corn leaves ties, are dwellers of this intimate altar that unfolds within the skirts of an istemeña ancestor.

 

While building this altar, I found myself populating an illustrative postcard to that yearning for our grandparents. Like a distant memory of a beloved childhood tale, from which I managed to convey only a reflection. But here it goes, with a lot of love, this altar is dedicated to my Xahuela, the great Na' Minerva (1921-2019).

WATER

Performance artist, choreographer and interpreter

This altar honours water. Water is life– it purifies, cleanses, and purges. Artist Leticia Vera uses the altar as a mnemonic device to conjure her early childhood memories, where her mother used to place glasses of water as an offering to the souls that dwelled her home. Water is a central symbolic component of Día de Muertos altars because it satiates the thirst for traveling souls. Here, the artist showcases water as an entity/fluid with its own spirit, which is offered on a metaphorical sense to satiate the thirst for justice in the country.

 

In this contemporary re-interpretation of the Día de Muertos tradition the altar is white. This inspiration comes from white altars traditional to the region of Huaquechula, Puebla. This may contrast with other altars in the exhibition where colours predominate but the Día de Muertos tradition is vast, and it is expressed in different forms in each region of Mexico.

 

Altar by Carla Canales, Erika Herrera and Patricia Torres

Offerings in Mexican homes for the Día de Muertos are traditionally dedicated to members of the family and loved ones who have passed away. Pictures of the people we want to remember, stand alongside some of their personal items and the things they enjoyed in life.

This altar honours the memory of family members, but it is also a means to share their stories with the next generations. Setting up the altar allows us to share with our children who our parents and grandparents were. Living away from Mexico, the altar has become a vehicle to connect with our traditions and to cope with nostalgia for our culture.

This altar is also a product of the encounter between the Peruvian and Mexican cultures.

 

This altar honours the memory of: Victoria Borjón,

Cosme García, Altagracia Plata, Gregorio Herrera, Camilo Hernández, Paz Díaz, Guadalupe Gedovius, Rodolfo Pérez de Tejada, Rodolfo Pérez de Tejada Gedovius, Patricia Terán, Alfonso Torres

LESVY BERLÍN (1995-2017)

Association des étudiants mexicains de McGill

In honour of Lesvy Berlín (1995-2017) and all disappeared women in Mexico, this altar foregrounds the systemic gender violence in the country. Lesvy was assassinated in 2017 in hands of her boyfriend. Her death unleashed a series of public protests in Mexico. To this date, Lesvy’s murderer has been convicted for femicide, but this is not the reality for most cases of gender violence.

During the first quarter of the year, at least 1,119 femicides were perpetrated, and the majority of the families are still demanding justice. On August 16, 2019, one of the largest feminist protests took place in Mexico City.

Thousands of women flooded the streets of the capital seeking answers from authorities. This altar is in support of those protests and commemorates the life of all the women who don’t have a voice anymore.

This altar celebrates and honours the tradition in Oaxaca

Linda Rutenberg, photographe

 

The Dia de Muertos holiday is a collective practice of special spiritual and social significance. The festivities start early usually by buying flowers from the local markets, and cleaning graves at the cemetery. Families prepare traditional dishes to share, like “mole” and tortillas. Photographer Linda Rutenberg offers us a window to those familial moments. Through her lens, she has gathered the places and the people that participate in this celebration in the region of Oaxaca, Mexico.

Altar by Alejandra Valle and Marisa Salinas

 

The Día de Muertos celebration is not limited to commemorate family members, but sometimes altars are dedicated to public figures. This is a way to honour their legacy and celebrate their life.

 

This altar is dedicated with love to Alicia del Valle, Alejandra’s grandmother, who passed away asleep to keep sharing love with her loved ones. The altar also memorializes great composer and bass player of the band Botellita de Jerez: Armando Vega, who was a great Mexican musician, poet, and screenwriter. In the same spirit, this offering pays tribute to great Mexican singer and artist: José José. As an act of gratitude, Alejandra and Marisa pay tribute to these public figures side by side with other family members.

FOR OUR LOVED ONES

Altar by Maru Lara Keane and Xania

This branch holds ribbons that commemorate a loved one.

 

While it could be said that the Día de Muertos tradition is celebrated differently in many regions of Mexico, some families adapt the tradition and transform it to make it their own. This is the case of Maru. After making Canada her home, she wanted to find a way to include non-Mexicans to participate in her altar at home. She found that the relationship with death is a very personal one, as well as cultural-specific. This is how she came up with the idea of having a branch where guests could tie a ribbon in honor of a loved one that had passed. For Maru, the Día de Muertos celebration is about sharing and inclusion.

ALTAR FROM OAXACA

Fraternité Culturelle des Amériques

This is a traditional altar from the region of Oaxaca.

 


AUTEL INTERACTIF INTERACTIVE ALTAR

AUTEL QUÉBÉCOIS, AUTEL COLLECTIF

PAAL Partageons le monde

In the fall, Montreal markets transform into a visual feast. Farmers honor the harvest abundance of the season with “altars,” swarming pumpkins and corn over haystacks. Similarly to the Día de Muertos, October in Quebec is a month to thank nature and to start a new cycle.

Traditions are better understood when shared. At PAAL, we believe that we can create a space for empathy when we exchange and engage in a dialogue between different cultures.

 

We invite you to participate in the Dia de Muertos tradition by bringing an item or photograph that you would like to offer to remember or honor someone’s memory.

Nouveautés / News

info@paalmtl.org

514 657-3340

514 402-7135

© 2015 Rafael Benitez. All rights reserved

Les autels de Dia de muertos NDG 2019

L’essence du «Día de Muertos» n’est guère limitée à la culture mexicaine. En fait, cela a toujours été un mélange de différentes cultures, telles que les traditions autochtones zapotèques, aztèques et purepecha, avec les fêtes religieuses hispaniques. Aujourd'hui, ce n'est pas différent. Día de Muertos est une tradition en évolution constante qui accueille de nouvelles interprétations.

Dans cette édition de «Día de Muertos» NDG, les autels reflètent cette riche diversité. Si certains autels de cette exposition présentent les caractéristiques intimes et personnelles des autels traditionnels nationaux, d’autres nous offrent des interprétations qui maximisent leur potentiel à raconter des histoires.

Comme le montrent certains créateurs, l'autel peut être utilisé comme un moyen de redéfinir les symboles traditionnels et de les replacer dans un contexte différent. D'autres prouvent que les autels ont aussi le potentiel d'être un espace pour le activisme politique, car ils nous aident à établir des liens entre le passé et le présent et constituent des artefacts de notre mémoire collective.

Maria Castaneda, comissaire de l'exposition

AUTEL DÉDIÉ AUX FEMMES VICTIMES DE FÉMINICIDE

Autel de Karla Trejo et Mayela Sandoval

Nous dédions cette offrande aux femmes et aux filles victimes de féminicide. Nous considérons que le féminicide est le crime le plus haineux qui soit, car il est basé sur le genre. Cela veut dire que les femmes sont assassinées par le seul fait d’être de femmes et parce que la plupart des féminicides ont commis par des hommes.

Le Mexique est le pays le plus féminicide du continent avec 3 357 féminicides en 2018, soit 9 femmes assassinées par jour, comparativement à 1 femme assassinée toutes les 48h au Canada. Si bien l’écart est énorme, il ne reste que dans les deux pays, il y a une surreprésentation des femmes et des filles autochtones, issues pour la plupart, des communautés historiquement délaissées par le système judiciaire. À cet effet, il faut souligner qu’au Mexique 95% des féminicides sont impunis, car la discrimination et la violence de genre sont systémiques.

Au-delà, des chiffres, nous voulons témoigner notre solidarité vis-à-vis de cette injustice, mais surtout, nous voulons mettre fin à cette déshumanisation qui prévaut dans la société. C’est pour cela que nous voulons mettre un visage et un nom à ces femmes qui ont été assassinées impunément, car elles avaient une vie, une famille, des rêves, des ambitions et AUCUNE de ces femmes ne voulait mourir.

 

Autel de Vanesa Arcega

Des objets dotés d'un pouvoir symbolique composent l'autel traditionnel. Alors que les fleurs et les bougies de cempasuchil (soucis) tracent le chemin des âmes et purifient leur parcours, d'autres types de personnages comme les calaveras (crânes) nous rappellent la proximité de la vie et de la mort. En fin de compte, les vacances concernent la joie. Pour cette raison, il est important de «gâter» les personnes disparues avec ce dont elles jouissaient dans la vie.

 

Dans cet autel, les passe-temps de ceux qui ne sont plus parmi nous sont célébrés, comme la numismatique et la peinture. C'est aussi un acte de soin. Leurs boissons et aliments préférés les nourrissent et les accueillent chez nous.

 

Cet autel célèbre la mémoire d'Eduardo de Arcega et d'Eva.

NA’ MINERVA

Yaen Tijerina, artiste visuel

 

Cet autel rend hommage à ma grand-mère Minerva et c'est une célébration de la mémoire de nos ancêtres; c'est un moyen pour moi de me souvenir d'eux et d'enseigner à ma fille ce que son Abuela Grande m’a appris.

Dans la tradition zapotèque, recevoir ses proches qui revivent chaque année en novembre est un grand événement qui inclut aller au cimetière quelques jours avant pour nettoyer les tombes et élaborer une grande offrande à la maison pour les recevoir. C'est une grande fête et un festin. Pour ma grand-mère, c’était très important de mettre en place un autel en mémoire de son arrière-grand-mère, de ses beaux-parents et de sa famille proche, et c'est précisément à travers ces rituels qu’un lien est tissé entre elle et moi.

Étant donné que la grande Xahuela est décédée cette année, la nostalgie m'a amené à participer aux festivités de la Dia de Muertos ici à Montréal. Les objets de l'offrande représentent ce que je garde de ma grand-mère: sa simplicité, sa franchise et la bravoure de son âme de femme Istmeña. Les autres éléments sont traditionnels des autels de la région de l’Istmo à Oaxaca, comme la forme verticale, des feuilles de bananier, et le xicalpestle festif. L'autel est portable et symbolique par sa simplicité (fabriqué principalement avec du carton). Les êtres qui font partie de mon arbre de mémoire - avec ou sans photo mais présents dans les liens de feuilles de maïs- sont des habitants de cet autel intime logé dans les jupes d'un ancêtre istemeña.

Pendant que je construisais cet autel, je me suis retrouvée à remplir une carte postale illustrative de ce désir pour mes grands-parents, comme un lointain souvenir d’un conte d’enfance bien-aimé, duquel j’ai réussi à ne transmettre qu’une réflexion.et autel est, donc, dédié, avec beaucoup d'amour, à ma Xahuela, la grande Na' Minerva (1921-2019).

L’EAU

Leticia Vera, chorégraphe et interprète.

Cet autel honore l'eau. L'eau est la vie - elle purifie, nettoie et purge. L'artiste Leticia Vera utilise l'autel comme moyen mnémonique pour évoquer ses souvenirs d'enfance, où sa mère déposait des verres d'eau comme offrande aux âmes qui habitaient chez elle. L'eau est une composante symbolique centrale des autels Día de Muertos car elle satisfait la soif d'âmes itinérantes. Ici, l’artiste présente l’eau comme une entité / un fluide doté de son propre esprit, proposé dans un sens métaphorique pour assouvir la soif de justice du pays.

 

Dans cette réinterprétation contemporaine de la tradition Dia de Muertos, l'autel est blanc. Cette inspiration provient des autels blancs traditionnels de la région de Huaquechula, Puebla. Cela contraste peut-être avec les autres autels de l'exposition où les couleurs prédominent, mais la tradition du Día de Muertos est vaste et s'exprime sous différentes formes dans chaque région du Mexique.

 

Autel de Carla Canales, Erika Herrera, Patricia Torres

 

Les offrandes dans les foyers mexicains du Día de Muertos sont traditionnellement dédiées aux membres de la famille et aux proches décédés. Les images des personnes dont nous voulons nous souvenir se tiennent à côté de certains de leurs objets personnels et de ce qu’elles ont aimé dans la vie.

Cet autel honore la mémoire des membres de la famille, mais c'est aussi un moyen de partager leurs histoires avec les générations futures. La mise en place de l'autel nous permet de partager avec nos enfants ce qu'étaient nos parents et nos grands-parents. Vivant loin du Mexique, l'autel est devenu un moyen de communiquer avec nos traditions et de faire face à la nostalgie de notre culture.

Cet autel est également un produit de la rencontre des cultures péruvienne et mexicaine.

 

Cet autel honore la mémoire de : Victoria Borjón, Cosme García, Altagracia Plata, Gregorio Herrera, Camilo Hernández, Paz Díaz, Guadalupe Gedovius, Rodolfo Pérez de Tejada, Patricia Terán, Alfonso Torres

LESVY BERLÍN (1995-2017)

En l'honneur de Lesvy Berlín (1995-2017) et de toutes les femmes disparues au Mexique, cet autel met en évidence la violence sexiste systémique dans le pays. Lesvy a été assassinée en 2017 par son petit ami. Sa mort a déclenché une série de manifestations publiques au Mexique. À ce jour, le meurtrier de Lesvy a été reconnu coupable de féminicide, mais ce n’est pas la réalité dans la plupart des cas de violence sexiste.

Au cours du premier trimestre de l’année, au moins 1 119 féminicides ont été perpétrés et la majorité des familles réclament toujours justice. Le 16 août 2019, l'une des plus grandes manifestations féministes a eu lieu à Mexico. Des milliers de femmes ont envahi les rues de la capitale à la recherche de réponses des autorités. Cet autel soutient ces manifestations et commémore la vie de toutes les femmes qui n’ont plus voix au chapitre.

 

Autel de // Altar by:

McGill Mexican Students’ Association

Association des étudiants mexicains de McGill

Cet autel célèbre et honore la tradition à Oaxaca

Linda Rutenberg, photographe

 

La fête de Dia de Muertos est une pratique collective d’une signification spirituelle et sociale très particulière. Les festivités commencent tôt, généralement en achetant des fleurs sur les marchés locaux et en nettoyant les tombes au cimetière. Les familles préparent des plats traditionnels à partager, comme des taupes et des tortillas. La photographe Linda Rutenberg nous offre une fenêtre sur ces moments familiaux. À travers son objectif, elle a rassemblé les lieux et les personnes qui participent à cette célébration dans la région d'Oaxaca, au Mexique.

Autel de Alejandra del Valle Marisa Salinas

 

La célébration Día de Muertos ne se limite pas à commémorer les membres de la famille, mais parfois des autels sont dédiés à des personnalités publiques. C'est une façon d'honorer leur héritage et de célébrer leur vie.

 

Cet autel est dédié avec amour à Alicia del Valle, la grand-mère d’Alejandra, qui est décédée pour continuer à partager son amour avec ses proches. L'autel commémore également le grand compositeur  et  bassiste du groupe Botellita de Jerez: Armando Vega, grand musicien, poète et scénariste mexicain. Dans le même esprit, cette offre rend  hommage au grand chanteur et artiste mexicain: José José. En guise de reconnaissance, Alejandra et Marisa rendent hommage à ces personnalités publiques aux côtés d'autres membres de la famille.

POUR NOUS PROCHES

Autel de Maru Lara

Cette branche contient des rubans qui commémorent un être cher.

 

Bien que l’on puisse dire que la tradition du Día de Muertos est célébrée dans de nombreuses régions du Mexique, certaines familles l’adaptent et la transforment pour en faire la leur. C'est le cas de Maru. Après avoir élu domicile au Canada, elle a cherché un moyen d’inclure des non-Mexicains dans son autel à la maison. Elle a découvert que la relation avec la mort était une relation très personnelle et culturelle. C'est ainsi qu'elle a eu l'idée de créer une succursale où les invités pourraient attacher un ruban en l'honneur d'un proche disparu. Pour Maru, la célébration du Día de Muertos est axée sur le partage et l'inclusion.

AUTEL D’OAXACA

ALTAR FROM OAXACA

Fraternité Culturelle des Amériques

Autel traditionnel de la région d'Oaxaca, Mexico.

 


AUTEL INTERACTIF INTERACTIVE ALTAR

AUTEL QUÉBÉCOIS, AUTEL COLLECTIF

Les marchés montréalais à l’automne se transforment en un festin visuel. Les agriculteurs rendent hommage à l'abondance des récoltes de la saison avec des «autels» composés de citrouilles et maïs sur des meules de foin. De la même manière que «Día de Muertos,» octobre à Québec est un mois de remerciement envers la nature et de démarrage d'un nouveau cycle.

Les traditions sont mieux comprises lors du partage. Chez PAAL, nous pensons que nous pouvons créer un espace d'empathie lorsque nous échangeons entre différentes cultures.

 

Nous vous invitons à participer à la tradition Dia de Muertos en apportant un objet ou une photo que vous aimeriez offrir pour commémorer et honorer la mémoire de quelqu'un. 

Nouveautés / News

info@paalmtl.org

514 657-3340

514 402-7135

© 2015 Rafael Benitez. All rights reserved